What next after Tokyo Marathon

The purpose of this blog has been served, and I was thinking of officially closing it, but I need to come up with another blog before that(I will come back to that later).

Anyway, my Tokyo results were a big confidence booster given that I was down with Achilles for about 2 months and was suffering from cold during the race. Now I just feel like continuing training just for the sake of it until I decide what races to do.

The areas I would like to focus on now is speed and endurance. Tokyo’s Marathon pace was a very comfortable pace for me, but if I need better times, I need to have a faster times in 5k and 10k. There might be some disagreement in this note, but was thinking of trying to get my 17:30 5k speed and improve it if I can for me to go for a lower 3hrs marathon time.

Yesterday, I went for a first training outing after the Marathon. I did two loops of 4.4 Km. The first loop I went out fast, but could only manage a 17minutes 16 seconds lap. The second loop I did it at a comfortable pace with a surge in the last one kilometer to close the lap at lower 20 minutes.

I would like to be able to close the 4.4 loop in lower 16 minutes or upper 15 minutes. I don’t know if that would happen, let’s see.

 

Leave a Reply

