A good threshold run

I gave myself a bit of a break after my 30.8K on Saturday.  By Wednesday (Yesterday), I felt good enough to go for a bit of a run.

At the moment mileage is not the main thing anymore as the big day is approaching. The runs I do now are just to sharpen me up and to keep my rhythm going.

The goal wa to do anything above 10k but not over 17.6k.  I was hoping for a 17.6 K, that’s 4 loops of 4.4 under 1hr 15 minutes.  I just felt like I could better my 1 hr 15 minutes I did last Wednesday.

The opening lap wasn’t bad,  I usually go slow at first as the engine needs to get warmed up and the muscles need to soften up a bit.  The first loop went by in about 19minutes 40 seconds.

In the second lap the rhythm was on, and could do it in 18 minutes more or less.

When going onto the third lap, the thought of not pushing myself so hard started playing in my mind.  From my experience, a number of times I ignore such messages, something unpleasant occurs.  Just to be on the safe side, I decided to close the training after 3 loops.

I could manage a 55 minutes 13.3K which was within under 1hr 15 minutes 17.6K goal pace.

I felt like I had a good threshold exercise at the end.

Probably I will do one more run tomorrow.